View from Alki

The first time I heard of Alki Beach, I thought “What? Why would I go somewhere called Alchie Beach?” A portrait of a Venice Beach-like crowd materialized in my head, with lots of graffiti, dreadlocks, and pot-smoking.

Alki Beach (pronounced Alk-I, like anti) is nothing like that. It’s a strip of shore directly across the water from downtown Seattle with lots of grass and sidewalk to admire the view. There are lots of restaurants and rental shops along the road for your rollerblades and kayaks and whatnot, which we’ll have to check out one of these days. It was a gorgeous day yesterday so we drove out there and joined some friends for lunch – unpacking can wait! With tacos, outdoor seating, and this view, I had to keep reminding myself I wasn’t on vacation.

(By the way, I am so excited that it’s Sunday night and I don’t need to be heading to the airport and back to San Francisco!)

Alki Beach Seattle skylineA shot of Seattle from Alki Beach. Doesn’t it look like such a calendar photo shot? Good job, iPhone camera.

 

One thought on “View from Alki

Leave a Reply

