What have I done?

It’s a question I’ve been asking myself a lot lately.

Between work, school, friends, and all the other things that need to get done, life has gotten stressful. Weekends and national holidays are now devoted to homework. I am more likely to be YouTubing videos of how to derive long-run supply curves than Jimmy Kimmel clips. Yuck, right?

True, I signed up for this, expected it, and even tried to mentally prepare myself – but it’s the constant feeling of being behind I dislike. Behind on reading, homework, being a good girlfriend/friend, chores, and lots of things I can’t think of right now. I enjoy being back in the world of academia, learning, and stretching my mind (I definitely feel it stretching) – but the juggling part, not so much.

I was told in the beginning of my MBA program by current students and alumni that something would have to give, but I can’t let anything go quite that easily — between school, work, and sleep, you will have to pry my ‘friend’ time from my cold, dead fingers! I’ve found that in my new whirlwind life, spending time with friends is an infinitely better mood and energy booster than another cup of coffee could ever be. I always thought I was a procrastinator (hello college), but lately I’ve been trying to get as much work done as I can whenever I have a chance, so when I actually do have social engagements I’m able to go. Result: I am that nerd who takes her backpack everywhere in case there is a 30-minute opportunity to whip out the accounting textbook. Priorities. 🙂

Leave a Reply

